RESPONSIBILITY: Mr Peter Shadbolt / Mrs Laureen Adderley





The school provides:

  • Fortnightly ICT lessons
  • Networked, internet-able workstations in all learning areas
  • Interactive whiteboards
  • Fixed data projectors and screens in learning areas
  • Class set of computers in ICT Centre


Information and communications technology (ICT) is the hardware and software that enables data to be digitally processed, stored and communicated. ICT can be used to access, process, manage and present information; model and control events; construct new understanding; and communicate with others.

ICT, an interdisciplinary domain, focuses on providing students with the tools to transform their learning and to enrich their learning environment. The knowledge, skills and behaviours identified for this domain enable students to:

  • develop new thinking and learning skills that produce creative and innovative insights
  • develop more productive ways of working and solving problems individually and collaboratively
  • create information products that demonstrate their understanding of concepts, issues, relationships and processes
  • express themselves in contemporary and socially relevant ways
  • communicate locally and globally to solve problems and to share knowledge
  • understand the implications of the use of ICT and their social and ethical responsibilities as users of ICT.

Learning in this domain enables students to focus on the task to be accomplished rather than on the technology they are using to do the work. Through the selection and application of appropriate equipment, techniques and procedures, they process data and information skilfully to create information products in forms that are meaningful for themselves and their audience. These products effectively demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of the concepts, issues, relationships and processes that are the subject of the task.

Students are provided with tools and strategies to monitor learning patterns and problem solving strategies. This provides a sound foundation for transforming personal learning. They gain an understanding of Internet protocols and strategies for exchanging information, which enables them to share and challenge their own and other people’s ideas and solutions with a global audience.

Back to top





In ICT, standards for assessing and reporting on student achievement are introduced at Level 1.

This table outlines where a student is expected to be at a particular time in his/her educational journey. Most students will achieve the expected standard. Some will achieve to a higher standard. Some may not reach the expected standard.

Currently the ICT Domain has not been moved into the Australian Curriculum format and is set out as follows:


Foundation Prep  
Level 1 Year 1 Working towards Level 2
Level 2 Year 2  
Level 3 Year 3 Working towards Level 4
Level 4 Year 4  
Level 5 Year 5 Working towards Level 6
Level 6 Year 6  
Level 7 Year 7 Working towards Level 8
Level 8 Year 8  
Level 9 Year 9 Working towards Level 10
Level 10 Year 10  


Click to view the curriculum for Personal Learning Levels Prep - 10.

Please note that currently AusVELS Progression Points that describe student behaviours expected at each level are only available for English, Mathematics, Science and History.

Back to top